The WTA Auckland Open, also known as ASB Classic, is a professional women’s tennis tournament that takes place in Auckland, New Zealand every year. Get the latest WTA Auckland Open betting tips, picks and the latest predictions for the 2020 edition below.

The event is played in the first week of January and it is generally among the first few tournaments of the season on the WTA Tour. Additionally, Auckland Open is the sole international tennis tournament that is played in New Zealand. This is the best opportunity for all the Kiwis to enjoy some quality tennis action, without spending exorbitant prices.

Auckland Open is classified as a WTA International tournament, wherein, the champion is awarded 280 points. Despite the lack of points up for grabs, many high profile players attend this event, owing to its proximity to Australia.

Given that the Australian Open is played a few weeks after the ASB Classic, this event serves as a fantastic practice run for the big showdown.

Recommended WTA Auckland Open Betting Websites

If you are looking to sign up for new bookmakers, what we can recommend are the following three, who we consider to have the authority and trustworthiness. These three also have signing offers, depending on which country you are from, so do go ahead, read the fine-print with respect to those offers and start betting on the Auckland Open here.

  • Bet365 (sign up with bet365 here)
  • Unibet (sign up with Unibet here)
  • 888Sport (sign up with 888Sport here)

[maxbutton id=”10″ ]

Latest 2020 WTA Auckland Open Betting Tips


2020 WTA Auckland Open Schedule & Dates

The 2019 edition of the Auckland Open will begin from December 30 with a round of qualifiers before the first round matches start on December 31. The final will be held on January 6 while the exact order of play for the competition will be revealed just prior to the start of the competition.

Player List for 2020 WTA Auckland Open

This year’s player list for the Auckland Open will be released soon by the organisers.

Last year, the top seed in the tournament was Caroline Wozniacki, who had a breakthrough previous season of sorts, having her first ever Grand Slam title at the Australian Open. She was joined by defending champion and second seeded Julia Goerges, Venus Williams and Kirsten Flipkens, along with Petra Martic.

Women’s Singles

Barbora Strycova, Caroline Wozniacki, Venus Williams, Julia Goerges, Hsieh Su-wei, Kirsten Flipkens, Petra Martic, Alison van Uytvvanck

What Happened at the 2019 WTA Auckland Open?

Julia Goerges successfully defended the Auckland Open title she won in 2018 as he she overcame Bianca Andreescu in the final in a three-setter. Interestingly, this was the first time Andreescu shot to fame in 2019, in a season that saw her win multiple titles including the US Open.

In the previous edition of the WTA Auckland Open that was also hosted at the ASB Tennis Centre, Julia Goerges defeated Caroline Wozniacki in the final to win the title. Goerges was a straight set 6-4, 7-6 winner but the tournament did its wonders for Wozniacki who went on to then win the 2018 Australian Open.

Both these players were the top two seeds last season and will continue to be the same for this season as well.

The other semi-finalists last season included American qualifier Sachia Vickery, who went down to Wozniacki in straight sets Hsieh Su-wei, who lost to Goerges in the other semi-final.

Some of the other players in action last year were Barbora Strycova, Agnieszka Radwanska, Lauren Davis, Yulia Puntintseva, Mona Barthel and Donna Vekic. The last four of these names were seeded fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth respectively but failed to make it beyond round one of the tournament.

Previous 10 WTA Auckland Open Title Winners

Women’s Singles

2019: Julia Goerges
2018: Julia Goerges
2017: Lauren Davis
2016: Sloane Stephens
2015: Venus Williams
2014: Ana Ivanovic
2013: Agnieszka Radwanska
2012: Zheng Jie
2011: Greta Am
2010: Yanina Wickmayer
2009: Elena Dementieva